Mobile menu icon

Chapter Leadership


  • Justin Bierschwale

    Justin Bierschwale, ARA, MAI

    President View past presidents (325) 446-3052

    Justin Bierschwale is a part-owner and appraiser with Bierschwale Land Company, LLC located in Junction, Texas.  He has experience in appraisal work in a multitude of areas but his primary expertise lies in natural resources.

    Justin is co-author of ASFMRA’s Wind Powered Generators and their Impact on Land Ownership seminar.  He is the sole author of the updated 2011 version of the Appraisal of Natural Resources seminar, also housed by ASFMRA.  Justin has been an appraisal instructor since 2008 and has taught all levels of appraisal courses to an excess of 1,000 students.  His efforts in promoting quality appraisal education and being a staunch advocate for sound, ethical appraisal practices and methodologies earned him the Early Career Award with ASFMRA.  This award is granted to those individuals displaying a true passion for the advancement of the appraisal profession and is awarded to one recipient per year.

    Justin holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree from Texas A&M University.  He holds the Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) designation from the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers and the MAI designation from the Appraisal Institute.

  • Wayne Young

    Wayne Young, ARA

    Immediate Past President

    (936) 439-0379

    Instructs: Cost Approach for General Appraisers (A301), Sales Comparison Approach for General Appraisers (A302), Cost Approach Applications

    Wayne is the Regional Chief Appraiser for Capital Farm Credit. Capital Farm Credit is an Agricultural Credit Association (ACA) and is a part of the national Farm Credit System. The association is headquartered in Bryan, Texas, and has 23 lending offices located throughout Central, South Central and Southeast Texas. Capital Farm Credit is ranked as one of the top ten lenders in the Farm Credit System.

    Since 1986 Wayne has worked as an independent appraiser, the State Appraiser for the Farm Service Agency in Texas and for Capital Farm Credit. Most appraisal work for Capital Farm Credit is for the bank with limited outside appraisal assignments. While with Capital he has worked in approximately 70 counties in Texas along with assignments in Kansas, New Mexico, and Hawaii. The bulk of his experience is with small to large agricultural lands typically trending toward more urban, residential and recreational uses.

    Wayne Joined the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers in 1986 and received his ARA designation in 1998.

  • Rebecca McWilliams

    Rebecca McWilliams, ARA

    President Elect

    (512) 446-6114

    Rebecca McWilliams is a Regional Appraiser Officer for Lone Star Ag Credit, responsible for coordinating the evaluation needs for the southern and far eastern territory of Lone Star.  Rebecca has been with the Farm Credit system for over 8 years and primarily specializes in farm and ranch property appraisals and appraisal reviews throughout Central Texas.  Prior to that, she worked as an independent appraiser.

    Rebecca holds a Bachelor’s degree in Animal Science and a Master’s degree in Land Economics and Real Estate, both from Texas A&M University.  She also holds the Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) designation from the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers.

  • Bryan Bednarz

    Bryan Bednarz, ARA

    Vice President

    (806) 281-1789

    Bryan Bednarz currently serves as Senior Appraiser of Collateral Risk Management for Capital Farm Credit, ACA, in Lubbock, Texas. Capital Farm Credit, ACA is a diverse $7.5 billion ACA serving numerous counties located throughout Texas. Bryan’s primary responsibilities are appraisals and assisting in the management of all collateral evaluation functions for the association.

    Bryan joined Capital Farm Credit in 1999 as an appraiser. In this capacity, his work has involved the appraisal of large farms, ranches, and highly improved agricultural properties, including commercial cattle feedyards, dairies, feed mills, and cotton gins.

    Bryan Bednarz graduated from Texas Tech University in 1989 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Economics. From 1990 to 1999, he worked as a fee appraiser in San Angelo, Texas, specializing in commercial and agricultural properties.

    Bryan is currently a State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser in Texas and New Mexico and an Accredited Rural Appraiser (ARA) of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers.

  • Carmen Bierschwale

    Carmen Bierschwale


    (325) 446-3052

    Carmen Bierschwale is an Affiliate member of ASFMRA and has served as the Secretary/Treasurer for the Texas Chapter since 2010. She is also the Office Manager for Bierschwale Land Company, LLC, a family owned and operated company located in Junction, Texas. Carmen manages the Texas Chapter out of her office in Junction.
    Carmen graduated from Texas A&M University in 2002 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Economics. She is married to Justin Bierschwale and together they have three kids.


Ethics & Standards Committee

Paul E. Bierschwale, ARA (chair) (325) 446-3052
James J. (Jim) Jeffries, ARA, MAI (512) 930-5559
M. Chad Dugger, ARA (806) 763-5331
Robby B. Vann, ARA (512) 423-8112
Robert A. Moran, ARA (830) 896-3433
William P. (Pat) Murphy, ARA (903) 785-0441

Bylaws Committee

Rebecca McWilliams, ARA (chair) (512) 446-6114
Jon W. Mask, ARA (210) 492-2550
Mark A. McAnally, ARA (512) 463-5231

Young Professionals Network Committee

Andrew Rollins, (512) 525-3052
Daniel Barnett, ARA (903) 348-8656
Ethan L. Smith, AFM (817) 884-4413
John P. (Tooter) Robertson, Jr., ARA (210) 227-6229
Nathan L. Tonne, ARA, MAI (325) 446-3052

Continuing Education Committee

Mark A. Lewis, ARA (chair) (936) 632-4230
John P. (Tooter) Robertson, Jr., ARA (210) 227-6229
Justin P. Bierschwale, ARA, MAI (325) 446-3052
Rebecca McWilliams, ARA (512) 446-6114
Wayne T. Young, ARA (936) 439-0379
Wiliam J. (Bill) Thompson, AFM (325) 277-8301

Legislative Committee

Wendell C. Wood, ARA (chair) (512) 863-6428
Kyle Amos, AFM (806) 316-5055
Paul E. Bierschwale, ARA (325) 446-3052
Ronny W. Johnson, (830) 608-0883
V. Keith Barlow, ARA (432) 631-8512
Victor R. Probandt, ARA (325) 658-2773

Membership Committee

Wade L. Kubecka, ARA (chair) (979) 543-2078
Larry D. Kokel, ARA (512) 863-6428
Michael D. Mays, ARA (512) 863-6428

Meetings and Programs Committee

Bill S. Beam, ARA, RPA (chair) (325) 437-7600
Aaron D. Bierschwale, ARA (325) 446-3052
Charles E. Gilliland, Ph.D. (979) 845-2080
Kyle Amos, AFM (806) 316-5055
V. Keith Barlow, ARA (432) 631-8512
Wiliam J. (Bill) Thompson, AFM (325) 277-8301

Public Relations Committee

Bryan Bednarz, ARA (806) 281-1789
Charles S. (Scott) Seely, ARA (936) 632-4230
Merrill E. Swanson, ARA (210) 227-6229
Paul V. Loeffler, (432) 386-3101
Rebecca McWilliams, ARA (512) 446-6114
Victor R. Probandt, ARA (325) 658-2773
Wayne T. Young, ARA (936) 439-0379
Wendell C. Wood, ARA (512) 863-6428